Springtime

It’s getting to be that time of year. The ground is mushy, there are patches of snow (but in most places there is FINALLY more brown than white!), the average temperature is above 30, and the birds are chirping up a storm. But, most important of all:

REENACTING SEASON IS UPON US!

It is the time of year when what I do for fun is actually cool for a minute! We are gearing up for Patriot’s Day, that wonderful day where Boston is off work for the marathon but really we’re commemorating the Battle of Lexington and Concord. As a Concord native (no, I don’t live there anymore) and a history nerd I adore this time of year. It makes me feel special and like I’m from somewhere that matters. But let’s face it, I really actually love it because I can correct people who believe myth over fact. I love being right.

I hate that people think we have that Monday in April break off because of the marathon. THE MARATHON HAPPENS THEN BECAUSE IT’S A HOLIDAY! Grrr….

This year I won’t be in the reenactments for Battle Road. This year I am sad. It’s for a good reason though! I’ll be in rehearsal for MCV, because we are preparing for going to Nova Scotia this summer for the Royal Nova Scotia International Tattoo!!! I’m super excited about that (my poor tendinitis-y wrists and arthritic toe hate me, though), but it’s always weird to not go to the Battle Road reenactment. At least I have the usual parades that Monday, otherwise I would be TOTALLY confused and lost in the world.

I’m not sure why I love this stuff so much. Part of it is it’s the only time my patriotism actually gets sparked. July 4th? Nope. 9/11 commemorations? While very meaningful and sad, and important to remember, it doesn’t spark my pride. Patriot’s Day in April though, boy oh boy do I get pumped up. I’ve always been that way. When I was little I would practically count the days between my birthday (January) and April 19, and then I would figure out if the Monday holiday would actually occur on the 19th….

Yes, I know, I didn’t have a life. Still don’t, really, since I spend most of my time in rehearsal and sewing new clothes for reenacting…

I’m pretty sure the only reason I have friends at this point is because they all do the same weird hobbies I do. Thank goodness the boyfriend does too!

Anyway, I am so excited for the start of this reenacting and fife and drum season! MCV’s first parade was last week, and this weekend we have a full two days of performances! I’m not going to be excited for it once it’s on me, but for now I’m completely bugging out.

I love marching down the street as a part of a larger group. I love playing music with people and wearing the same uniform. I love that I’m a part of a group I saw when I was little and swore I would join some day!

Gosh I love springtime!!!!!

Leave a Reply

